Hot Best Seller

The Seekers

Availability: Ready to download

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari & Deepti. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Journey. Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive. As children, their grandfather told tales of the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf, tales ev A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari & Deepti. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Journey. Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive. As children, their grandfather told tales of the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf, tales everyone else believed were only legends--everyone, that is, but Mio. When the life-giving river that flows through their village is mysteriously threatened, Mio and Nao set out beyond their valley to find out what has gone wrong. The farther they get from home, they find lifeless trees and skies filled with smoke. The other villagers grow weary of their mission until they are confronted with their childhood legends come to vivid life and have to risk everything to save their home. Depicted through intricate cut-paper art, this memorable tale will remind readers of the importance of home while still striving to discover the world around you.


Compare

A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari & Deepti. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Journey. Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive. As children, their grandfather told tales of the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf, tales ev A small band of brave adventurers journey to save their village in this stunning debut picture book from papercut artists Hari & Deepti. Perfect for fans of Aaron Becker's Journey. Mio and Nao live in the valley of Krum, above a great river that provides everything they need to survive. As children, their grandfather told tales of the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf, tales everyone else believed were only legends--everyone, that is, but Mio. When the life-giving river that flows through their village is mysteriously threatened, Mio and Nao set out beyond their valley to find out what has gone wrong. The farther they get from home, they find lifeless trees and skies filled with smoke. The other villagers grow weary of their mission until they are confronted with their childhood legends come to vivid life and have to risk everything to save their home. Depicted through intricate cut-paper art, this memorable tale will remind readers of the importance of home while still striving to discover the world around you.

30 review for The Seekers

  1. 5 out of 5

    Abigail

    Mio and Nao lived in a tree-top village in the valley of Krum, gathering the crown-shell snails deposited by the river that bathed the roots of their arboreal home every night, before receding during the day. Although different as they could be - Mio was a storyteller, and believed in the ancestral tales about the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf who kept the world in balance, while Nao was more practical, and longed for adventure in the everyday world - they were good friends. When the river which prov Mio and Nao lived in a tree-top village in the valley of Krum, gathering the crown-shell snails deposited by the river that bathed the roots of their arboreal home every night, before receding during the day. Although different as they could be - Mio was a storyteller, and believed in the ancestral tales about the Silver Fox and Fire Wolf who kept the world in balance, while Nao was more practical, and longed for adventure in the everyday world - they were good friends. When the river which provided their sustenance began to dry up, the pair led a group of villagers on a quest to find its source, and the cause of the problem. Could it have anything to do with the beautiful jewel Nao had found? And what did it have to do with the Silver Fox and the Fire Wolf...? A lovely original fairy-tale and ecological fable is paired with breathtakingly beautiful artwork in The Seekers, the debut picture-book from Indian artists Hari Panicker and Deepti Nair. Created, according to Panicker and Nair's brief afterword, over the course of two years, the illustrations here utilize thirty handmade dioramas and over six hundred layers of cut paper. The intricate cut-paper boxes the author/artists created were then backlit and photographed for the book. I enjoyed the story here, and appreciated its message of ecological balance, but the real stand-out is the artwork! I'm a bag fan of David Wisniewski's gorgeous cut-paper illustration style, and Panicker and Nair have taken that to the next level. Recommended to anyone who appreciates gorgeous picture-book art, and to anyone seeking ecological fables for children.

  2. 4 out of 5

    Emmy Neal

    UNBELIEVABLY exquisite art, and it has a wonderful story--I wish we had another page or two for the reader to make the necessary mythology connections before we get to the climax.

  3. 4 out of 5

    Dan Browne

    One of the best illustrated kids books I have ever seen!

  4. 4 out of 5

    Edward Sullivan

    The highlight here is exquisitely intricate cut-paper, silhouette art.

  5. 4 out of 5

    Barbara

    Mio and Nao have grown up listening to the stories of their grandfather and believe firmly in the existence of guardian spirits that protect Krum, the village where they live. When Nao finds a jewel and uses it as an adornment, Mio starts to notice that something is wrong with the natural world, particularly the river. Concerned about their own village, they and a band of others set off to find out the cause of these changes. As it turns out, it has been the selfish actions of another village th Mio and Nao have grown up listening to the stories of their grandfather and believe firmly in the existence of guardian spirits that protect Krum, the village where they live. When Nao finds a jewel and uses it as an adornment, Mio starts to notice that something is wrong with the natural world, particularly the river. Concerned about their own village, they and a band of others set off to find out the cause of these changes. As it turns out, it has been the selfish actions of another village that caused this disaster as the rivers are drying up. They must restore the harmony by calming the Fire Wolf and putting the Silver Fox back together again with jewels like the one Nao found. Readers will quickly recognize the strong environmental message in this stunningly illustrated book. The story is, of course, a cautionary tale fit for today's world, but it is the illustrations that will catch the eye of readers. They consist of hand-cut colored paper that has been backlit, photographed, and then edited digitally. The Authors' Note explains the book's focus and also that the images required thirty dioramas and used 600 layers of cut paper to be completed. Perhaps some reader will pick this book up and decide to make positive changes in how the current generations are treating the environment.

  6. 4 out of 5

    Vandana

    As readers usually do, I submerge myself into a book I am reading. I live amongst the characters, wear their clothes and almost taste their food in my mouth. It is a superpower. And such books become my favorites. "The Seekers" has been one such book. and as I read, flipping each page felt like each of their handcrafted papercut illustration boxes lit up around me and the characters came alive. I have always been extremely awed and fond of the papercut box illustrations they create - and though As readers usually do, I submerge myself into a book I am reading. I live amongst the characters, wear their clothes and almost taste their food in my mouth. It is a superpower. And such books become my favorites. "The Seekers" has been one such book. and as I read, flipping each page felt like each of their handcrafted papercut illustration boxes lit up around me and the characters came alive. I have always been extremely awed and fond of the papercut box illustrations they create - and though I can't own one - having this literal memory of it on my bookshelf makes up for it. And, coming at a time in a century, when the story is so ecologically relevant, it is wonderful read to relate to. I totally loved it!!!! ❤️

  7. 4 out of 5

    Kelly

    I thought it was okay. I wasn't really drawn into the story, and while the illustrations are beautiful and colorful, they are also very one note. After a few pages of the illustrations you're like, okay I get it, this is your style.

  8. 5 out of 5

    Bookish

    Read an F&G and reaaaaaalllllly want to see the final of this one as I suspect the galley couldn't do justice to their paper-cut artwork. Interesting story, but the illustrations are what will make this one shine -- they're quite striking.

  9. 5 out of 5

    Melissa

    Beautiful illustrations.

  10. 4 out of 5

    Mabel

    Beautiful illustrations and such an important message

  11. 5 out of 5

    Amanda Piccirillo

    Beautiful artwork and storyline.

  12. 4 out of 5

    Donalyn

    Stunning paper cut art.

  13. 4 out of 5

    stillme

    Stunning illustrations - I just like to turn the pages slowly and soak in all the rich color contrasted with the black shadows.

  14. 5 out of 5

    Emma

    A fascinating fable about balance and harmony in the natural world. Absolutely stunning cut-paper illustrations - looks computer generated, they are so intricate and detailed.

  15. 5 out of 5

    Marcie

    This story reads so much like traditional literature that seems to come from a deep philosophical/ecological background, but appears as an original story. The art work is incredible.

  16. 5 out of 5

    Engel Dreizehn

    Gorgeous illustrations which reminds me of shadow puppet shows + parable that says...what happens in one world effects another, so there must be balance.

  17. 4 out of 5

    Megan McCloud

    Pretty cool. Interesting story!

  18. 5 out of 5

    Read Ribbet

    Artists from India, Hari & Deept use bold colored, layered dioramas to tell a fable of the Silver Fox and the Fire Wolf. When the Seekers main water source dries up, they leave their village to discover what happened. The journey takes themt through dangerous lands as they try to bring the water source back to their village. The illustrations will capture the readers' attention. While the story tells a cautionary tale around environmental issues.

  19. 4 out of 5

    Aeicha

    Hari & Deepti’s The Seekers is a mesmerizing and deeply felt picture book, full of adventure, heart, and a timely message. Readers will fall in love with the wonderfully woven tale and the dazzling cut-paper illustrations, full of the most stunning colors and scenes.

  20. 5 out of 5

    Colby Sharp

  21. 4 out of 5

    Samantha

  22. 4 out of 5

    Tonya

  23. 4 out of 5

    Chelsea Mills

  24. 4 out of 5

    Erica

  25. 5 out of 5

    Raven Terry

  26. 4 out of 5

    Rebecca

  27. 4 out of 5

    hhertzof

  28. 5 out of 5

    Taylor Macias

  29. 5 out of 5

    Jacob Hoefer

  30. 4 out of 5

    Deena

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.